The Changing Face(s) of Science

Having celebrated this week the 50th anniversary of Martin Luther King’s “I Have a Dream” speech, and heading into the Labor Day weekend, I thought it would be appropriate to post this picture of the attendees of a meeting of, or related to, the Society for the Study of Evolution (one of the scientific societies to which I belong) from around the time that group was founded.

Science and society have made progress with respect to the diversity of participants.  But look around you – there’s a long way to go before the faces of science reflect the American population, much less the world at large.

Image

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The Changing Face(s) of Science

  1. Marlene Zuk

    Yes indeed! Thanks for this, and for your new blog, which I really like. If you wanted to add some of the many women in science blogs to your roll, you could steer interested readers to more discussion on the topic of diversity, too. Happy to recommend some if you like.

  2. Marlene Zuk suggested four sites, which I’ve copied here:
    http://science-professor.blogspot.com/
    http://tenureshewrote.wordpress.com/
    http://www.hunter.cuny.edu/genderequity/
    View at Medium.com

    I added the first two sites, which are written by women scientists, to my blog roll. I particularly liked this line in a post at Science Professor: “I would like to make the … suggestion that women should not be singled out to talk about work/life balance, either as givers or receivers of information on Family Issues, even by well-intentioned men.” That’s good, because I’m hoping eventually to write a post on work/life balance.